DEA Scheme

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme is a voluntary, non-competitive programme of practical, cultural and adventurous activities for young people aged 14-25.

The Award programme consists of three levels, Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each have differing criteria for entry and the level of achievement necessary to complete each award.

Air Cadets who meet the age criteria can join the award scheme. Visit the DEA website. Each award is broken down into 4 areas (5 for gold) which participants must complete successfully to receive their award.

These are:

Helping others in the local community.
Training for, and planning of a journey.
Demonstrate ability in almost any hobby, skill or interest
Physical Recreation
Sport, dance and fitness.
Residential Project
(Gold Award only) A purposeful enterprise with young people not previously known to the participant.

The Award is widely recognised by employers as it helps demonstrate that award holders are keen to take on new challenges, have a higher level of self confidence than their counterparts, have leadership qualities with the added experience of teamwork.